Six West Virginia Regions to Receive Grants to Fight Drug Abuse

Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin announced on Thursday, Aug. 23, that six regions in West Virginia will benefit from the $7.5 million grant approved by the Legislature last winter.

The state grant will be dedicated for creating substances abuse program that will help put an end to the drug abuse epidemic that has been victimizing an increasing number of West Virginians. Tomblin shares that more residents are dying of drug overdoses than are killed annually in road accidents.

“Substance abuse is all over West Virginia. It’s just that the substance is different from region to region,” Tomblin said.

According to the State Journal report, the funding recommendations include establishing or expanding the following services:

Region 1: a crisis stabilization unit/detoxification unit and a women’s regional recovery unit that would serve Hancock, Brooke, Ohio, Marshall and Wetzel counties.

Region 2: Screening, Brief Intervention and Referral to Treatment, or SBIRT, services, as well as a women’s treatment and recovery facility in the Potomac Highlands region. Region 2 serves Morgan, Berkeley, Jefferson, Mineral, Hampshire, Grant, Hardy and Pendleton counties.

Region 3: a child and adolescent treatment facility that would serve Wood, Pleasants, Tyler, Ritchie, Wirt, Calhoun, Roane and Jackson counties.

Region 4: SBIRT services in Randolph, Harrison and Braxton counties, as well as intensive outpatient treatment in Randolph and Tucker counties, two recovery coaches in each of Monongalia, Marion, Preston, Taylor, Doddridge, Harrison, Lewis, Gilmer, Braxton, Barbour, Tucker, Upshur and Randolph counties.

Region 5: SBIRT services in Logan and Mingo counties providing regional coverage, a women’s treatment facility with outpatient services available for men and women in Logan, Mingo and Boone counties. Region 5 serves Cabell, Kanawha, Mason, Putnam, Clay, Wayne, Lincoln, Logan and Mingo counties.

Region 6: a detoxification and stabilization unit, as well as SBIRT services. Region 6 serves Fayette, Monroe, Raleigh, Summers, Webster, Nicholas, Greenbrier, Pocahontas, McDowell, Mercer and Wyoming counties.

Gov. Tomblin acknowledges the fact that the problem of substance abuse impacts everyone in many different ways and that fighting  the epidemic requires statewide, collaborative effort.

Pass it on. Help a friend or a loved one.

, , ,

  1. No comments yet.
(will not be published)